The new Google Photo App feature is one that will be released at the first Google I/O developer conference, and the search giant announced updates across all of its services.
The Google Photos app will get a passcode-protected Locked Folder space where you can store sensitive photos separately.
The new feature of the Google Photo App What's stored here won't appear when you scroll through Google Photos or other gallery apps on your device.
The Locked Folder will be available on the Pixel first, and arrive on more Android devices throughout the year. In Pixels, you'll have the option to save Photos and videos directly to the Locked Folder of the camera app.
Google Photos adds Protected Locked Folders, more controls for Memory
Google Photos shows photos from a few years ago,
Recent highlights, moments with your loved ones, your favorite activities, and so on.
But sometimes it can give rise to something you may want to forget forever,
So with that in mind, controls for hiding photos of people or a certain period of time will be easier to find starting later this summer.
The app will also get more detailed controls for memory in your grid. Starting today,
You can rename travel highlights, or delete them.
You'll be able to delete a single photo from Memory, The Best Memory of the Month, and rename or delete based on the moment you celebrated.
Starting at the end of this summer,
Google Photos will highlight the small patterns it finds in a series of three or more photos that have something in common.
Like shape or color. You'll find it in Memory, and it's no surprise to use machine learning.
Later this year, you'll also see a new kind of memories from the moments you celebrated, whatever they may be: Diwali, Lunar New Year, Hanukkah, or something else.
These memories will appear as you scroll through your photo grid, along with The Month's Best Memories and travel highlights.